•   We had the best time riding the horses (and I'm not a rider myself), it was so scenic and amazing fun. If you can, definitely ride the horses on the beach and in the lake, there is honestly no other experience quite like it! I...More

    thumb sorchasmith
    1/05/2018
  •   Many thanks to all the stuff for absolutely amazing time and experience !! Absolutely the best food in Malawi! Very beautiful horse riding and beautiful swimming, and beautiful rooms!!!! The Boho atmosphere is addictive!

    thumb אחיקם ב
    8/31/2018
  •   This is a must-do activity if you are staying in or near Kande Beach. The staff were very passionate and knowledgeable. They had horses for riders of all levels. It is an amazing experience to ride a horse through the forest, down the beach, and...More

    thumb
    1/03/2018
  •   I had a wonderful 2 hours horse ride through the beautiful forest, near villages and on the beach, including a special experience: swimming with the horses! the stables look nice, the horses looked like they were in good care and the guide was really friendly....More

    thumb doktersnuggles
    2/13/2018
  •   I first visited Kande Horse a year ago and had the most amazing few days there, so I came back again this year.... but for a much longer period this time and what a great decision!!! I always feel so well looked after there.  With...More

    thumb Cara M
    11/26/2017
  • 5 star review  A stunning retreat centre, superb rides to the beach and swimming with the horses... I loved the healthy food and my room was total heaven! I can't wait to return! �����

    thumb Hazel Newton
    10/09/2016
  • 5 star review  A truly magical destination. I paradise where you may not expect it, Malawi is an incredible country and Kande have been able to capture it and add a little twist. Delicious healthy food (vegan friendly). A cannot wait to go back!

    thumb Angelica Sykes
    10/14/2016
  • 5 star review  One of the highlights of my trip to Malawi. Beautiful, well cared for horses. Wonderful ride through the African countryside with lots of cantering. Alice and Nina were so friendly and welcoming.... even lent me a pair jodhpurs! A fantastic experience that I would definitely recommend to all horse lovers (in fact, anyone) visiting Malawi.

    thumb Nikki Haward
    10/19/2017
  • 5 star review  Loved this activity. Horses are all beautiful, and was amazing to go swimming in Lake Malawi with them! Got some great photos too!

    thumb Charlotte Brennan
    10/29/2017
  • 5 star review  Beautiful, well behaved and well looked after horses. Great staff that work to provide a great experience for all levels. Definitely recommend!

    thumb Chelsey Surgenor
    3/10/2016
  • Johanna Schumacher

    “Wow, it´s hard for me to put my feelings about this place into words. I´m incredibly thankful I got the opportunity to live and work at Kande Horse and for everything I´ve learned here. The whole team was so welcoming, warm hearted and always open for new ideas and suggestions that it instantly felt like a second home. It was important for me to volunteer for a place where the well-being of the horses is taken top priority and it was beautiful to see how everyone here shares this interest. I will come back for sure.

    I have nothing but love for this place, these humans and animals!“

  • Kate

    There’s something special about Kande Horse. The farmhouse looks out over a lush little pocket of paradise, as we called it. The morning starts early with the crow of a rooster or a nicker of a horse. The whole place bustles with activity and there’s always something to get involved in. Whether you want to help groom the 15 horses, sprinkle feed for the chickens, or pick up morning riders.

    Breakfast is something to look forward to, as are all the meals. Deliciously prepared recipes that previous guests and volunteers have left for Amos, the chef. You get flavors and dishes from all over the world, all vegetarian and sourced locally. Often times with the produce, local means a few feet away. Kande Horse’s garden is something to rave about. Feel free to dig in and get your hands dirty, as herbs, fruit trees and veggies are harvested according to the season.

    When the riders arrive, it’s a chance to meet new faces and swap travel stories. Most of the riders are just passing through Kande and Malawi and they are keen to chat about where they’ve been.

    You can fill your afternoon with a ride if there are any horses left behind. An afternoon trot to the lake shore is the perfect addition to any day, and the crystal water lapping the beach is a sight to behold.

    After a filling lunch and maybe a short lounge in the hammock, there are guests to tend to and riders to pick up.

    After dinner, jump in the truck and get back to the beach to catch the stunning sunset. Have sundowner drinks at the bar and mingle with other travellers. There’s never a dull night.

    If you’re looking to spend your time in a great community and for a business that works hard to improve the lives of the people around it, check out Kande Horse. There are so many things to do to stay involved: if your passion resides in the kitchen, you can swap recipes and tips with the local chef, Amos, and help with meals.

    If you’re looking to work on your green thumb, Myaso the gardener always needs an extra pair of hands to tend the plants and the fruits of his labour.

    If riding is your passion and you have experience, you can work with some of the horses in training on the ground or in the saddle.

    A short walk down the road is Kande village, where you will have no trouble finding a friendly face to chat to or some beautiful chitenge to buy. Pass smiling children and shy locals as you go, and don’t forget to learn the local Tonga greetings. Just a few words and you’ll have the whole group smiling back and chatting. It’s important to slow down here and enjoy the peace of Kande Horse. It’s true that as soon as you turn down the drive, you feel invigorated to help out and leave the place better than you found it. You’ll leave a lot here, but you’ll take a lot with you when you leave.. don’t miss this experience, it’s unlike any you will ever have again.