•   I first visited Kande Horse a year ago and had the most amazing few days there, so I came back again this year.... but for a much longer period this time and what a great decision!!! I always feel so well looked after there.  With...More

    thumb Cara M
    11/26/2017
  •   This is a must-do activity if you are staying in or near Kande Beach. The staff were very passionate and knowledgeable. They had horses for riders of all levels. It is an amazing experience to ride a horse through the forest, down the beach, and...More

    thumb
    1/03/2018
  •   Kande Horse is a tranquil, beautiful and wholeheartedly welcoming retreat. My friend and I went to Kande Horse, ready and excited for the yoga retreat that they were hosting. We both had recently been physically and mentally exhausted and Kande Horse gave us well and...More

    thumb
    3/04/2018
  •   Me and my husband did a one hour ride trough the forest and the beach. For both of us it was the first time on a horse, and altough it was very scary we enjoyed this unique experience. We started with a delicious vegetarian lunch...More

    thumb Margarita T
    1/02/2018
  •   After a long car ride with 2 flat tires en route, we were greeted with a hearty welcome and a delicious dinner. Our accommodations were in an old farmhouse overlooking the stables, quaint and quiet. We had a few great horseback rides including riding bareback...More

    thumb
    1/19/2018
  • 5 star review  Beautiful, well behaved and well looked after horses. Great staff that work to provide a great experience for all levels. Definitely recommend!

    thumb Chelsey Surgenor
    3/10/2016
  • 5 star review  Brilliant experience - swimming with the horses. Excellent team there too. Highly recommended.

    thumb Sean Haughton
    11/11/2016
  • 5 star review  Beautiful retreat, friendliest staff I've ever met anywhere in the world and awesome healthy food.

    thumb Jack Finn Kelcey
    10/09/2016
  • 5 star review  I had an incredible stay at Kande Horse. Everyone there were very welcoming, making you feel at home. I stayed in the dorm, the bed was by far the best I slept on in during my month in Malawi. The food was great, very healthy - thanks chef Amos. I love how you grow most of the fruit and veg in your own garden. The ride to the beach was amazing, I will never forget riding into the water with the horses, an incredible experience. The sunsets at Kande Beach were some of the best I have ever seen. Thank you all for an amazing stay, I can't wait to come back xx

    thumb Toby Neill
    3/28/2017
  • 5 star review  Amazing experience and a really nice place to spend few nights!!!! I would come back for sure!

    thumb Eli InVe
    1/07/2017
  • Johanna Schumacher

    “Wow, it´s hard for me to put my feelings about this place into words. I´m incredibly thankful I got the opportunity to live and work at Kande Horse and for everything I´ve learned here. The whole team was so welcoming, warm hearted and always open for new ideas and suggestions that it instantly felt like a second home. It was important for me to volunteer for a place where the well-being of the horses is taken top priority and it was beautiful to see how everyone here shares this interest. I will come back for sure.

    I have nothing but love for this place, these humans and animals!“

  • Kate

    There’s something special about Kande Horse. The farmhouse looks out over a lush little pocket of paradise, as we called it. The morning starts early with the crow of a rooster or a nicker of a horse. The whole place bustles with activity and there’s always something to get involved in. Whether you want to help groom the 15 horses, sprinkle feed for the chickens, or pick up morning riders.

    Breakfast is something to look forward to, as are all the meals. Deliciously prepared recipes that previous guests and volunteers have left for Amos, the chef. You get flavors and dishes from all over the world, all vegetarian and sourced locally. Often times with the produce, local means a few feet away. Kande Horse’s garden is something to rave about. Feel free to dig in and get your hands dirty, as herbs, fruit trees and veggies are harvested according to the season.

    When the riders arrive, it’s a chance to meet new faces and swap travel stories. Most of the riders are just passing through Kande and Malawi and they are keen to chat about where they’ve been.

    You can fill your afternoon with a ride if there are any horses left behind. An afternoon trot to the lake shore is the perfect addition to any day, and the crystal water lapping the beach is a sight to behold.

    After a filling lunch and maybe a short lounge in the hammock, there are guests to tend to and riders to pick up.

    After dinner, jump in the truck and get back to the beach to catch the stunning sunset. Have sundowner drinks at the bar and mingle with other travellers. There’s never a dull night.

    If you’re looking to spend your time in a great community and for a business that works hard to improve the lives of the people around it, check out Kande Horse. There are so many things to do to stay involved: if your passion resides in the kitchen, you can swap recipes and tips with the local chef, Amos, and help with meals.

    If you’re looking to work on your green thumb, Myaso the gardener always needs an extra pair of hands to tend the plants and the fruits of his labour.

    If riding is your passion and you have experience, you can work with some of the horses in training on the ground or in the saddle.

    A short walk down the road is Kande village, where you will have no trouble finding a friendly face to chat to or some beautiful chitenge to buy. Pass smiling children and shy locals as you go, and don’t forget to learn the local Tonga greetings. Just a few words and you’ll have the whole group smiling back and chatting. It’s important to slow down here and enjoy the peace of Kande Horse. It’s true that as soon as you turn down the drive, you feel invigorated to help out and leave the place better than you found it. You’ll leave a lot here, but you’ll take a lot with you when you leave.. don’t miss this experience, it’s unlike any you will ever have again.